Track List:

  1. Amaranth

  2. The Test of Time

  3. Nobody in this World

  4. Goodbye and Farewell

  5. Can’t Get a Letter From Home

  6. Sweet Heaven

  7. Waiting on You

  8. Only You Can Know

  9. Way Back When

  10. That Good Old Way

These Old Roots, 2010

“The Honey Dewdrops' second album, These Old Roots, may have been released in the fall of 2010, but from the sound of it, it could have been made 70 years earlier. Well, not quite. Sound fidelity wasn't nearly this good then. But Charlottesville, VA husband-and-wife team Kagey Parrish and Laura Wortman made a point of recording the old-fashioned way: tracking their guitars and Parrish's mandolin, as well as their vocals, in complete performances in the studio and issuing them that way, virtually without edits or overdubs. It's an appropriate approach given the style of music, which is old-timey mountain music sung with country harmonies and played in fingerpicking style. The great surprise is that almost all the songs are newly written originals by Parrish and Wortman; only "Can't Get a Letter from Home" is credited as "Traditional from the singing of Addie Graham from Magoffin County, Kentucky." Wortman, singing lead, personifies jilted and faithful lovers and Parrish chimes in here and there, while holding down the instrumental accompaniment with his sure-handed runs on guitar and mandolin. The Honey Dewdrops are trying to evoke a type of music that came down the mountain a long time ago as if it came down last week, and they largely succeed.” - AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann

These Old Roots is out-of-print but still available digitally on all major streaming platforms.



Recorded live in Richmond, VA

Mixed, engineered and mastered by Kagey Parrish

LAURA WORTMAN - Lead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar, Lead Guitar on "Can't Get a Letter from Home" and "That Good Old Way" 
KAGEY PARRISH - Harmony Vocals, Lead Guitar, Mandolin 
BARRY LAWSON - Bass on "That Good Old Way"

Album Design by Sherry Imswiler

Flourishes by Tristan Benedict-Hall

Cover photo by Gary Alter

All songs written by Kagey Parrish and Laura Wortman © ℗ 2010 The Honey Dewdrops, BMI 

Except “Can’t Get a Letter From Home”-Traditional, learned from the singing of Addie Graham from Magoffin County, Kentucky